Resources and Support Services Related to Child Visitation in the State of Illinois
These legal resources may help you better understand and secure your rights to child visitation, regardless of whether you're in Cook County, DuPage County or Will County.
This webpage provides an exhaustive listing of—and access to—downloadable Cook County Circuit Court forms. Search by court division, court form number or legal form title (e.g., Order on Visiting, Elastic Order for Unsupervised Visits). As every case is unique, these sample forms may not fit your circumstances exactly. The best course of action is to seek advice and assistance from an Illinois law firm like Collin Law Offices, P.C..
In cases where a judge has determined that a parent's visit with his her child must be supervised, the state has identified a number of supervised parenting time centers. Note: In some cases, parents must provide a copy of the order of protection or supervised visitation order in order to gain access to a center.
DCSS provides services to custodial and non-custodial parents by establishing paternity and establishing, enforcing and modifying child support obligations to strengthen families emotionally and financially. Apply for child support services, download forms, access case information and more through their website.
DCFS has gathered procedures related to child visitation as PDFs. You can also access a safety checklist for a parenting youth whose children will share or visit the placement. If you suspect that a child has been harmed or is at risk of being harmed, call the 24-hour Child Abuse Hotline at 800-25-ABUSE (800-252-2873 or TTY 1-800-358-5117). If you believe a child is in immediate danger of harm, call 911 first.
IDHS provides programs throughout Illinois to assist victims of domestic violence. These free and private services are available to Illinois residents regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, income, disability or sexual orientation. This includes a toll free, confidential and multilingual Domestic Violence Helpline that operates 24-hours-a-day: 1-877-863-6338 (Voice) or 1-877-863-6339 (TTY).
The Illinois State Bar Association (ISBA) has created a directory of its members who maintain professional liability insurance and are in good standing with the Illinois Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission (ARDC). You can call and receive a 30-minute consultation with a lawyer for a small fee, or you can search an online directory for nearby lawyers.
The State of Illinois Circuit Court of Cook County has gathered a list of more than 10 legal associations that can provide legal services for a fee, or direct you to a lawyer who can provide you relevant legal services (also likely for a fee).
The CBA Lawyer Referral Service has over 300 prescreened, qualified lawyers experienced in almost every area of law. If you meet with the lawyer they've referred, the lawyer will collect $30 at the initial consultation. The lawyer may also charge a fee for time/service.
The DCBA Lawyer Referral Service can help connect you with an attorney who concentrates in the type of law in which you need assistance. The service offers up to 30-minute consultation with an attorney at no charge. Fees should be discussed during the consultation.
The WCBA Lawyer Referral Service assists the general public by providing a way in which any person who can afford to pay a reasonable fee for legal services may be referred to a qualified member of the bar. All persons licensed to practice law by the Supreme Court of Illinois, in good standing, and who are also members of the WCBA in good standing, shall automatically constitute the voting membership of the service.
Resources and Support Services Related to Child Visitation in the State of Michigan
The following legal resources address child visitation/parenting time in Michigan, including Berrien County.
MDHHS helps parents in matters of family law, including parenting time. You can download their Michigan Parenting Time Guidelines in a PDF format here.
State of Michigan Parenting Time Manual & Forms
One number. One call. One person can make a difference. MDHHS provides a toll-free phone number to report abuse or neglect of any child or adult. If you suspect abuse or neglect, call: 855-444-3911.
The FOC is part of the family division of the circuit court in each county, and is supervised by the chief judge. It investigates, reports and makes recommendations to the court on child custody, parenting time, child support, medical support and other legal matters. The FOC also provides enforcement services on existing child custody, parenting time and support orders.
The State Bar of Michigan's Lawyer Referral and Information Service (LRIS) is designed to assist members of the public who want to hire an attorney and can afford to pay for legal services. Individual referral services are broken out by county. When you contact the attorney, make sure to state that you received a referral from the State Bar of Michigan. The cost of an initial 30-minute consultation with a LRIS panel member will be no more than $20. Fees beyond the initial consultation must be negotiated with the attorney.
If you have a legal problem in the state of Michigan and cannot afford to hire an attorney, you can contact your local legal aid office. This page features a simple search tool that helps you find legal aid by service (e.g., Family/Divorce/Custody) and county (e.g., Berrien).